RSS

Day 9 & The Biggest Loser

10 Jan

The Biggest LoserHusband and I watched the premier of The Biggest Loser last week. I was interested because I’d never seen the show before, but had heard people say it was really inspiring. The reason behind my interest changed drastically as soon as we met the trainers. Somehow I had missed seeing Jillian Michaels before, so I had no idea what she looked like. As soon as she started yelling people, I was calling her not nice names. Then one of the poor people fell off a treadmill, Bob came over and put his foot onto the man’s stomach, began saying really not nice things, and husband yelled at the TV. I was horrifically intrigued and interested to see how the trainers would continue to treat the clients. I was disturbed for the balance of the program.

Several people I know told me that the show was inspiring to them and that having someone yell at them was something they needed to get off their butts to do something about their health. Ok…I can buy that…I suppose. That sort of training would not work on me….well, it would work until I went off on the trainer. For me, there is no need for that negativity. I understand the need for accountability. I like to call it tough love, and I’ve dished it out to to plenty of people. If someone wanted me to yell at them when training, I could. It’s not my cup of tea, and I don’t think it should be necessary, but ok.

What we cannot give in on is the fact that I suspect these people are really not treated well or taught smart practices. When someone who is several hundred pounds falls off of a treadmill and states that they are in pain, there is a good chance there is actually an injury. That is not the time to go over and yell at them for being fat or tell them they are lucky to be there. This is a TV show. That means that the primary motivation behind this show is not these people’s well-being or success. It is money and ratings and viewing audience. Their success happens to be a by-product of these things, but the reason behind it all is money. Kai Hibbard, a contestant from 2006, shared about the adverse affects she experienced from being on the show. I have a hard time believing that she is an anomaly. It’s simply not healthy to lose weight that fast. 12 weeks is not enough time to lose 200 pounds. If it took these people YEARS to get as large as they are, I don’t understand how they believe it is natural or healthy to lose it in a matter of weeks. You might point out that they are desperate to get out of their situation. I’m not going to pretend that I understand, because I’ve never been anywhere near that big, but I do know that there should be more value placed on health, longevity, and quality of life. I think it’s far more important to teach and train people on how to make a lifestyle change rather than this sort of extremism.

We’re beginning week 2 of the 30 day paleo challenge. Good for you! You’ve made it a quarter of the way already. I’m hoping that already you’re beginning to think about how you want to change your lifestyle. In 22 days, you may decide paleo is not for you and go back to how you used to eat. Perhaps you’ll decide to maintain paleo as a lifestyle. You may also decide to keep some things and not the others. For instance, husband handles dairy MUCH BETTER than I do. I do not expect my possible choice of giving up ice cream is going to be part of his plan. That’s his prerogative as is yours at the end of the 30 days, but at least you’ll know what you felt like when you ate only the most nutrient-dense, healthy foods. We may be a little crazy about paleo, but that’s because we believe it to be the healthiest option. And most people won’t give it a chance unless they hear about it from someone they know. Healthy weight loss is about making decisions to change your lifestyle. The changes may not always be the most popular, easy, convenient, or “normal,” but who freaking cares?! If you look, feel, and perform better, it might be worth making a few adjustments. You decide.

Weekend food:

A hodgepodge of random things: Ginger shrimp salad, carnitas roast, chard and cashews, sauteed zucchini, meatballs & sunshine sauce, honeydew, paleo “ice cream”, and bacon

Happy Day 9!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 10, 2011 in paleo, Random Rants

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Day 9 & The Biggest Loser

  1. Miss Teacha

    January 10, 2011 at 6:03 am

    can you tell me more about this sunshine sauce for your meatballs?

    i stopped watching Biggest Loser long ago. I found it to be depressing and I don’t watch tv to cry. Paleo has been the best thing to ever happen to me. It is a lifestyle.

     
  2. Michelle Clark

    January 10, 2011 at 5:01 pm

    What is Paleo “ice cream”???

     

Leave a Reply

 
