RSS

Day 6 & Variety

07 Jan

You made it to Friday! Yay for you! I want to start off by saying I’m proud of you, I love you, I’m praying for you, and I’m sorry if any of my harsh words have rubbed you the wrong way, hurt your feelings, or made you feel like I don’t care. I promise I do love and care for you, want you to succeed, and am rooting for you 100%. The harshness/no wiggle room comes from 1)being a harsh thinker (I’m working on it), 2)knowing that people are addicted to carbs and sugar and 3)knowing that to do this successfully, most people need strong accountability. However, the aim is to be more positive and supportive rather than condescending and judgmental. I’m hoping to help out with some of the struggles people are feeling today.

During the first bout with Paleo, many people, including several of our readers here, have noted a feeling of boredom with food. I just didn’t understand this, but our friend Dave explained it in a way I understood. He and his wife Bethany said they had a different dinner every night but that food in general seems to lack flavor variety. Dave acknowledged, and I agree, that it is likely because their taste buds are still adjusting. Do you agree? Are there foods you particularly miss because of variety, or is it simply that all food tastes the same to you? I learned a lot about different vegetables and spices the first time around. If I want something that tastes Italian I use oregano and basil. If I want Mexican, oregano, cumin, chili powder, and cinnamon. Indian or Thai? turmeric or curry powder. I’ve used significantly more spices this past year than I did in the first four years of our marriage combined. Know that you are more than likely over half way through the adjustment period for your body. Things should start picking up by the end of next week. At this point, I truly enjoy food and am able to taste different flavors and know what to add to foods to make it taste “just right.”

Robb Wolf, the godfather of paleo, created this food matrix for people complaining about being bored with paleo food. Go there to find 81,000 food combinations! Now, I will admit that this is a bit of an exaggeration. While these meals may all be different, if that was all I ate, I’d be bored too. However, the point is made there, and he gives a nice chart of different veggies, meats, and spices. Note if you think the writers here at Team Alzen are tough and hard-hitting at times, be prepared to meet the man who taught us all we know. 😉

Dave also wisely reminded me that this is not my first time around at this, so I’m much more at ease. I admit my wrong in this. Of course I know there’s a plethora of recipes. I’ve spent hours looking for the end of the Paleo internet recipes and continue my search. So, to help you out, I’ve got a little project below. Below are 7 different options for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and sides/snacks. There are 28 DIFFERENT recipes from 28 DIFFERENT websites! All of these websites hold multiple paleo-friendly recipes. Since some of you are feeling like all food tastes the same, I’m hoping that some of these recipes will help alleviate that problem. This was fun for me, and I found several recipes I haven’t tried and websites I hadn’t explored. Thanks for sharing what you’re struggling with. Hopefully this will help. If you find something particularly good, let me know! I always need new recipes too. **Caveat** These websites are not 100% Whole-30 Paleo compliant. Most of them are from people who are maintaining paleo as a lifestyle. You’ve read the Whole 30. Use what you know to discern what you should and should not put in your food.

Breakfasts: “Oatmeal“; Pecan & Peach Scramble; Breakfast “burrito”; Sweet Potato Hash; Breakfast Egg Crepes; Paleo Pancakes; Frittata

Lunches: Ginger Shrimp Salad; Eggs with Mango Gazpacho; Salmon Stir Fry; Stuffed Delicata Squash; Turkey Tacos; Tuna Salad with Sundried Tomatoes and CapersMoroccan Lamb Kabobs

Dinners: Rolled Flank Steak with Spinach; Pork Tenderloin with Cilantro Pesto; Beef Lo Mein; Coconut Curry Pot Roast; Chicken Tika Masala; Shepherd’s Pie; Salmon with Pineapple & Patacones

Snacks/Sides: Meatballs; Sauteed Chard with Apples and Bacon; Roasted Beet and Avocado Salad; Gingered Cabbage; Stuffed Zucchini; Kale Chips; Bacon Wrapped Dates

Website Index: Here are the “home pages” of all the websites I linked recipes from above. Now you can go to them to find more recipes to try!

Crossfit XLR8Performance Menu; The Clothes Make the Girl; Food Lover’s Primal Palate; Crossfit Santa Cruz Central; Everyday Paleo; Mark’s Daily Apple; Whole 9; Sweet Cheeks Food Blog; Jen’s Gone Paleo; Paleo Girls; Health-Bent; Primal Mama Cooks; Primal Eating Modern Table; Dialed In Nutrition; Feasting on Fitness; Paleo and Randomness; PaleoDish; Eat, Move, Thrive; Primal by Design; Paleo Steve; Caveman Food; Yum Yum Get Some; Purely Primal; Health Habits; Joyful Abode; Crossfit Pheonix; The Label Says Paleo

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 7, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Day 6 & Variety

  1. Bethany

    January 7, 2011 at 8:19 am

    You are amazing and this is awesome! Thanks so much for new blogs to peruse. I (oddly enough .. ) am excited to make new food this week!
    And . for the record. I think my taste buds are finally evolving. The apple cinnamon muffins made from almond meal that I used to think tasted like dirt was seriously good this morning. Ah, progress. Finally. Thanks friend!

     
    • jalzen

      January 7, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      Nice! I’m glad to hear you’re making progress and that this is helpful. I’d also like to try your apple muffin recipe when we re-introduce eggs.

       

Leave a Reply

 
