RSS

Day 4 & A Typical Day’s Food

05 Jan

It’s day 4. For those of you venturing on this journey for the first time, it’s likely sucking. I’m willing to be there are some major food cravings, and you likely feel hungry often or pretty darn near constantly. This is part of the process, and it is normal. Your body is looking for cheap carbs to fuel itself, but you’re no longer feeding it that garbage. Within a week or so, your body will figure it out, and start accessing your fat for fuel. You will feel better. The cravings will end. I promise. I’m at Day 11 today, and I feel fantastic. I don’t have cravings, but am sad that it’s Wednesday and our refrigerator is sadly almost out of food. At this point it is often helpful to people to know about a typical eating day for us. I’m going to give you a regular paleo example day for me.

Breakfast: A large piece of quiche with half or even a whole avocado with some salsa. When I say large, I mean about the size of a CD. Everyone always cuts their quiche into these little itty bitty pieces, and then they wonder why they’re hungry. This quiche has bacon, sausage, coconut milk, eggs, and a variety of veggies. This is a substantial meal. I typically accompany this with a cup of black coffee or tea. Sometimes I’ll throw some coconut milk in my beverage as well.

It doesn’t happen often, but if I get hungry before lunch, I’ll snack on a handful of nuts and a baggie of veggies like broccoli, bell peppers, carrots, or cherry tomatoes.

Lunch: A large portion of whatever I’ve cooked in bulk that week. Often chili, lasagna, pot roast, spaghetti, or soup. If we have salad that week, I’ll try to eat salad ALSO 2-3 times that week. The salad is dressed with olive oil and mashed up avocado. It also has bacon and grilled chicken on it in addition to a variety of veggies. If lunch doesn’t end before I get to it, I may also have an apple or orange.

Since I often don’t have enough time to finish my lunch during my short lunch break, I’ll finish whatever is leftover from above after school.

Dinner: This really varies based on my schedule. Sometimes it’s bacon and eggs. Other times it’s a steak and some sort of vegetable. When I’m super busy, it’s just another container of the bulk item I cooked like chili, lasagna, etc. Occasionally, husband and I will share an apple, orange, or banana after dinner. We also often have another cup of tea before bed.

I only weigh 115lbs, so this is A LOT of food. We’re not kidding when we say EAT! If I’m hungry, I eat with absolutely no shame whatsoever. In fact, I honestly look for FAT when I’m hungry. I often ask myself what option I have with the most fat because I know it will satisfy my hunger the best and the quickest. When I’m working out, I eat quite a bit more because my body informs me that it’s needed, and I listen. Just keep feeding your body. It will soon figure out what’s going on, and you won’t have that constant nagging feeling of hunger anymore, I promise…as long as you’re not finding ways to sneak lots of cheap sugar into your diet.

Am I always this good? No. Sometimes I get busy and forget/neglect to eat, but this is the ideal day. Since we’re investigating how eggs/peppers/tomatoes affect my body, we’re eating a variety of other things right now, but this is what I would suggest to someone starting out as a pretty decent sample paleo day.

Yesterday looked like this for me:

Breakfast: Bowl of spaghetti squash with pesto, sadly no meat yet.

Lunch: Pork chop with asparagus and collard greens with bacon.

Dinner: Another large bowl of spaghetti squash with the newly cooked ground beef, mushrooms, and spinach. Yummy! Breakfast will be better tomorrow.

Happy Day 4!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2011 in paleo

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Day 4 & A Typical Day’s Food

  1. Michelle Clark

    January 5, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    I am glad to hear that the cravings will go away soon. Right now it is so tough to watch my students and coworkers eat cookies, crackers, sweets, bread etc. It has caused some very interesting discussions in the lunch room though….many other teachers have become interested and one other is also doing it with me! Keep the blog posts coming!!

     
    • jalzen

      January 5, 2011 at 9:59 pm

      For sure! Feel free to direct anyone here you’d like. We’re all about growing the community. It does make for some interesting conversation. Every time you see others eating all those carbs, tell yourself that they’re dirty and cheap (the carbs, not the people). Remind yourself that you are feeding yourself wonderful, quality food that truly nourishes and fuels your body.

       

Leave a Reply

 
