RSS

Day 3 & Terrible Weight Loss Advice

04 Jan

I know some of you reading think all of the advice offered here is terrible advice. That’s ok. You’re obviously entitled to your own opinion. However, I’ll honestly tell you that your opinion on the matter of Paleo means very little to me until you’ve successfully attempted a legitimate strict 30 days of Paleo. After that experience, we’ll talk more. Anyway, I’d like to share some not so awesome advice for losing weight I heard on the radio yesterday.

#1) “Exercise during some of your lunch break so that you don’t have enough time to eat more food.” What?! This is your plan for losing weight? How much weight do you expect to lose with this brilliant idea. Even if you skipped lunch every day, what do you expect your max weight loss to be? I can’t imagine it’s much, and then you’re just irritable all the time at work. Your co-workers would like you to eat so that you’re not grumpy all the time. To be fair, if I were to follow my own mandate above, I would try this before bashing on it. However, as a teacher, I hardly have enough time to eat my food as it is! I didn’t get to eat all of my lunch yesterday because it took too long to get ready for the next class, walk to and from the microwave, socialize just a little bit, and cut all my roast beef. I ate all my bacon and collard greens, but I had to come back home with some roast beef. It was quite sad.

#2) “Cut 3500 calories and you’ll lose a pound.” This one doesn’t even make sense to me. This is the same magic number for each and every person regardless of size, age, metabolism, lifestyle, etc? Weight loss isn’t this super easy math equation. If it were, I think society at large would have a better handle on it. Let’s say I eat about 2000 calories a day. If I just don’t eat for two days, will I lose a pound? What happens when I eat again? Will it come back? Did I actually lose a pound then? I’m just saying.

We here at Team Alzen know that sometimes often we sound like pompous know-it-alls. We both acknowledge that pride is a weakness we battle daily. However, when it comes to Paleo, we’ve done our homework. Husband more extensively than me, but I’ve done my fair share of reading articles, journals, books, blogs, websites, etc on this subject as well. Even with all of this, both of us readily acknowledge that we likely don’t have everything 100% correct simply because there will continue to be more research and discoveries made. There will likely be tweaks as we travel through life. However, as far as the current research represents, we truly believe this is the best plan for solid quality of life. I encourage you to not just take my word for things, but to do some of your own research as well. The people we’ve helped along this journey who were the most successful were those who didn’t rely completely on us, but instead used us as a jumping off point and reference into their own research and lifestyle decisions.

I’m supposed to be logging my food, and I’m failing. Here’s yesterday’s:

Breakfast: Bowl of spaghetti squash with pesto sauce.

Lunch: Collard greens with bacon and roast beef.

Dinner: More roast beef. I probably ate a pound of it in total all day.

This is not enough food. Need to increase today. Still didn’t get the ground beef browned to include with breakfast. It wasn’t thawed last night.

Returned to crossfit last night. It was great and terrible all at the same time. Looking forward to returning to that level of intensity on a regular basis.

3 Rounds for time:

Run 400 meters
30 overhead squats, 30#
21 pull-ups

Time: 15:30

Happy Day 3!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 4, 2011 in paleo, Random Rants

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
