RSS

Day 1 & Collard Greens with Bacon

02 Jan

It’s technically Day 8, but I’ve had some tomatoes this past week. Today is the official Paleo+ strict Day 1. During this first week I had a few cravings for chocolate and food in general. I think this was in part due to breaking carb/sugar cravings and also in part due to simply not eating very much. Being on vacation means that I don’t have a regular schedule, and thus don’t eat regularly. This is bad, and you should not follow my example in this. Tomorrow I’ll be back to regular eating, where I will hopefully be a better example of what strict paleo is supposed to look like.

I’m actually ok with going back to work tomorrow. This has probably been the most relaxing vacation I’ve had since I started teaching. In addition to visiting family in Florida, I’ve read a book, knitted a scarf, begun to crochet a scarf, played the piano, played lots of video games, done some work for church, seen friends and family, almost finished making a dress, caught up on all my blog reading, thought NOTHING of work =), found lots of new recipes, and cooked food. It’s been a fantastic break!

One of the things I made for this week was collard greens with bacon. We ate a very similar salad for most of the past year, so I’m basically over it. However, I try to keep a general rule of vegetables at every meal. I made this to make up for the veggies we won’t be getting from that salad.

Collard Greens with Bacon

Ingredients:

-6-8 pieces of bacon
-16 oz. “Southern” greens–Trader Joe’s has a bag of them that are already trimmed and cut. If you buy them whole, trim the stems and cut into 2″ strips
-1/2 onion, diced
-4 cloves garlic, minced
-1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
-1/2 cup water or broth
-pepper

Directions:

-Cut the bacon into 1/2″ pieces and brown in skillet. When nearly cooked, add onion. Cook until translucent.
-Add garlic and pepper and cook until garlic is fragrant.
-Add vinegar and simmer until about half of the liquid is gone.
-Add the greens and water/broth. Stir frequently. Cook until greens wilt and lose their brightness.

I’m not doing peppers, but you could add some red pepper flakes if you wanted for a spicy flavor.

If you haven’t already done so, I encourage you to take measurements, note how your clothes are fitting, and take pictures of yourself in your underwear. Don’t worry. No one will see them but you unless you do something foolish. 😉 Some people get discouraged because they don’t see the number on the scale where they want it to be, but then their clothes start getting too big. Nothing fits anymore and people comment on how good they’re looking. This may be you, and you may be sad if you don’t have a before account to compare with later.

To my knowledge, there are at least a dozen people following along who are doing strict paleo in January. There may be more of you, but only about 12 have actually said anything to me. Feel free to comment here and find community if you like. I’ll be here every day, and I’m sure several others will be as well.

Happy Day 1!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 2, 2011 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Day 1 & Collard Greens with Bacon

  1. Miss Teacha

    January 2, 2011 at 11:49 am

    Def doing the challenge here, but a couple of questions:

    1. I thought vinegar was forbidden in the strict 30days?

    2. Is everyone doing the STRICT participating in no tomatoes & peppers? That rules out paleo lasagna? Maybe I missed it?

     
    • jalzen

      January 2, 2011 at 6:26 pm

      Vinegar in limited amounts has been sanctioned by the paleo people we look to for an example, so we’ve let it in a bit. Nothing crazy, but a little here or there is ok. The no peppers/tomatoes/eggs thing is something we’re doing to investigate a possible auto-immune or thyroid issue we think I might have. Everyone else is doing things just like you did the first time. No need to cut out those extras.

       

Leave a Reply

 
