RSS

What can 30 days hurt?

15 Dec

It amazes me when I talk with people about all the different things they’ve done to try and lose weight. People join programs that count everything: points, calories, grams of fat, grams of carbs, pounds, ounces of food. You name it, people will count it. Some decide it’s necessary to eat 6 times a day and get stressed when they miss one meal. Other people will “commit” to hitting the gym 5-7 times a week when they don’t go to the gym at all–like this is feasible and realistic. Others will choose an all liquid diet for a certain amount of time to “cleanse.” i.e. juice or that lemon juice and chili powder thing. Still others simply starve themselves in calorie restriction. I say much of this from experience as I’ve done at least three of the aforementioned plans.

People are willing to do all this and more, yet many people I’ve spoken with simply think Paleo is way too far out there, weird, and impossible. All Paleo does is draw a boundary line around what you eat. However, within those boundaries, you are (almost) completely free to eat as much as you want as often as you want. Several people have commented that Paleo is actually much more freeing than other plans. There is no stress over counting, adding, and finagling numbers. You just eat what you want until you’re full. When you’re hungry, you eat again.

I’m sure you can do it for 30 days. Consider it. I’ll be doing it in January. You should join me.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2010 in paleo

 

Tags:

3 responses to “What can 30 days hurt?

  1. Michelle Clark

    December 15, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    We are joining you for sure! 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      December 15, 2010 at 5:30 pm

      Yay! It will be fun!

       
  2. Miss Teacha

    December 15, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    It is completely freeing! I’ll be starting again in January, as I have taken too many cheats this holiday season. I am excited b/c I have LOST 40 LBS and maintained it with cheats. However, if I am to lose another 40, I’ve gotta give up the cheats in the January. Thanks for supporting me through it all! You guys ROCK!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
