RSS

Yoga Kicked My Butt

13 Nov

I’ve sort of shifted a bit from crossfitting to more weight training recently. Husband has us on this 5X5 weightlifting plan that is supposed to be three days a week. Since If often only get to the gym 3 times a week these days, that often means I am only weight training. This was one of those weeks. I had done various squats, deadlifts, overhead presses, cleans, bench presses, pull-ups, push-ups, reverse sit ups, and plank before going to yoga with MIL on Thursday. Yoga is typically difficult for me as I’m not very flexible, and I get bored. This time it was extra bad. It seemed to be more leg intensive, and the day before had included squats and cleans, which meant my legs were toast. I sat down several times during yoga hour and seriously considered rolling up my mat and going to lift weights with husband. I did push through, and it was a good active recovery workout as I didn’t get sore later in the day like I typically do. However, I was reminded that I need to be better about stretching, and yoga once in a while really is good for me. How do you exercise? What are things you do because they’re good for you, but you don’t really enjoy?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2010 in crossfit

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Yoga Kicked My Butt

  1. sherri

    November 13, 2010 at 7:41 am

    I love yoga and do it almost everyday. I have embraced the spiritual side as well as the physical side of yoga, and it has helped me to be more PATIENT with things that are not in my control 😉 I just dreamed I was eating a cupcake-I never dreamed about food before this happened. So, now I don’t get to eat fun things because they make me very sick. But, being healthy is more important.

     
  2. Laci Morgan

    November 13, 2010 at 9:35 am

    Yep, yoga kicked my butt this week too! I’ve been trying to get back into doing the Wii Fit yoga stuff, and I did it three days this week. It’s surprisingly tough. It didn’t feel hard while I did it, but ouch, my poor muscles feel it now. I feel like I’m 70, haha!

    It just proves that I’m waaaay out of shape. 🙂

     
  3. David

    November 13, 2010 at 1:11 pm

    I’d like to say that I run, climb, and crossfit… but my last bit of exercise I did was mowing the lawn… boo.

     

Leave a Reply

 
