RSS

Squash and Sausage Soup

22 Oct

I recently put this together and like it A LOT, so I thought I’d share.

Ingredients:

2 large Butternut Squashes
4 cups Chicken Broth
1 large Brown onion
1 package Trader Joe’s Chicken Spicy Italian Sausage
1 can Coconut Milk
Salt & Pepper

Cook the squash however you like. I used the microwave because I’m lazy.
While that’s cooking, brown the sausage, then chop the onion and add it into the soup pot.
In shifts, put squash in the blender with some chicken broth and coconut milk.
Dump everything into your soup pot. Add broth & coconut milk to get desired texture.
Salt and pepper to taste.
Simmer for a bit so that flavors blend.
Yummy!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: ,

6 responses to “Squash and Sausage Soup

  1. Jessica H

    October 22, 2010 at 5:12 am

    This sounds delicious! I love squash! One of my favorite things about fall

     
  2. Miss Teacha

    October 22, 2010 at 5:50 am

    it sounds soooo good! i’ll be buying squash this weekend at the farmers market.

     
  3. Bethany

    October 22, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Forgot to tell you that I finally got around to making my soup this week too. I did 1 squash, half an onion, 1 cup of carrots, 1 apple (cored and peeled), and 3 cups of chicken or veg stock. I roasted the squash separately as well and added it in after the other veggies had cooked. All the other steps are the same as yours. It’s my new favorite thing too.

     
    • jalzen

      October 28, 2010 at 6:09 am

      Nice additions! I’ll have to try those out next time I make it!

       
  4. Miss Teacha

    October 24, 2010 at 12:18 pm

    i made the squash soup this weekend, I added red bellpepper when the sausage was browning. While it was cooking I add some nutmeg . . .gave it a “different” flavor. It was so delicious. And filling. I found that a bowl of it was an entire meal! Awesome recipe.

    Question: would these winter squashes be in the same category as sweet potatoes. should I limit intake because they are higher on the glycemic index scale?

    Nevertheless the recipe rocked and I had a bowl for breakfast and lunch today.

     
    • jalzen

      October 28, 2010 at 6:09 am

      Yeah. Squash is similar to the yams/sweet potatoes in that it’s best not to eat them often if weight loss is a primary goal. Glad you liked it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
