RSS

No Excuses Part 4: Chapter 9

14 Oct

“Don’t embarrass the family. Make the family proud” (Lopez 126).

I’m really trying to emphasize this with all of my students this year, not just my advisory students. I’ve told my kids that I’m like their “Momma Alzen.” At school, it’s my job to look out for them, love on them, and whip them into shape. They know that I always care about them, and that caring sometimes means I listen when they need to cry and talk. Other times, that means I have serious conversations with them about behavior choices and achievement in classes. I truly desire that my kids know I’m hard on them because I love them and want them to be as successful as possible.

Lopez makes a good point in this chapter that every kid should have an academic goal, but that they don’t need to have a goal for every single class. As educators, of course we all think our own class is the highest priority, but I think it’s important for kids to understand goal setting and achieve goals before they can handle 6 different academic goals. This week I’m planning to work with each student in my advisory to set one solid academic goal for the rest of this semester. Then we’re going to make tent cards stating that goal. Inside the tent card, students will record each week what steps they have taken to meet that goal. At the end of the semester, we’ll have a record of what the goal was, what steps were taken during advisory, and then we’ll be able to reflect on if we were successful or not.

A handful of my advisory kids have gotten a little lazy and now don’t focus during the time as they should. I’m hoping that this will help them a bit. We’ll see. I’ll keep you updated.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 14, 2010 in Book Club

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
