RSS

Books on Tape: Secret Life of Bees

07 Oct

A friend of mine suggested renting books on tape from the library the other week, and I was so excited by this prospect. I’ve never wanted to buy a book on tape before because the one-time listen wasn’t worth the money to me. I don’t buy books in general for this reason. However, I’m willing to part with $1 to borrow one for three weeks. So for the last three weeks I’ve been listening to The Secret Life of Bees. I LOVED it! This was such a great story and a book I’ve been meaning to read for years. It deals with so many issues: coming of age, civil rights, depression, women, family, and more. The only problem was that I drove up to work a little teary-eyed a few times from the story. I’m excited to return this one and find another treasure to make my commute a little more interesting.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2010 in Book Club

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
