RSS

We want to help you, not convince you

23 Sep

If you’ve been around for any amount of time, you know husband and I are Paleo for life. The Team Alzen motto is “Go Out Strong.” We love our lifestyle, and don’t foresee any significant changes in the years to come. However, we are constantly reading and researching to make sure we know what current research says. We may have become a part of a cult following, but we’re not lemmings.

This lifestyle has been the source of many an interesting conversation. Sometimes with people who are truly interested, others with people who think we’re morons and want to criticize, and still others with people who have surface level knowledge and want to be convinced that this is the way to go. Except here’s the thing…I think these people really have no interest in making any significant lifestyle changes. It’s like they’re fishing around to see if either of us have anything to back up our lifestyle, not because they’re interested or agree, but perhaps because they are afraid we’re right and they don’t want to do anything about it in their own lives. Here’s the thing, if you’re truly interested, please ask! We want to walk alongside you and share this adventure. If you’re curious but don’t really care, just Google it. You’ll find plenty of information. I’m really not interested in convincing anyone to do this who hasn’t already decided for themselves that they want to make lifestyle changes. And if you’re totally not interested, no big deal at all. We’re still cool, and we still want to be friends…we just won’t eat hamburger buns at the next bbq.

PS…all you real life friends out there who read this, I’m not talking to you…in fact, I’m talking to people who will likely never read this blog. Just a caveat, because I don’t want anyone to have their feelings hurt.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2010 in paleo

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “We want to help you, not convince you

  1. Miss Teacha

    September 23, 2010 at 7:05 am

    Paleo has completely changed my life! COMPLETELY! And I am only 90% right now b/c I haven’t gotten the excercise/crossfit part down and I occasionally have a nonPaleo treat.

    I always have trouble explaining it to people although they can see a big difference in the way I look. I often simplify it by explaining that I don’t eat processed food and only grassfed meat. Most understand this simplified answer and don’t try to tell me, I’m wrong.

     
    • jalzen

      September 23, 2010 at 2:27 pm

      That’s not a bad idea. You are one of those who asked me after you had already made the decision to do it for yourself. I’m so glad this is now a part of who you are as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
