RSS

Oops…

21 Sep

Mistakes happen, right? We all get a lot on our minds at times and perhaps lose track of some of the plates we’re spinning? I would say I’m overworked, but I really don’t feel that way. However, I had a bit of an “oops moment” this afternoon.

I left my middle school planning meeting with plenty of time to get to my office hours as the local university adjunct professor. I ran a couple of errands on campus and settled into the coffee shop to work on grades while waiting for students who perhaps needed help. The time was productive and I got several things done. I was careful to watch the clock closely to make sure I got to class in plenty of time. When it was about 10 minutes until class should start, I packed up my stuff and began to make my way over. On the way, I met a student who asked me if we were having class. I told her yes and that I was on my way. She looked at me and said, “Ok. We were wondering, because it started 20 minutes ago.” … Oops…

When I left the middle school, I was very aware that my class started at 4:30. When I sat down at the coffee shop to enter some grades, I knew class started at 4:30. Sometime around 4:20 my brain apparently scrambled and I convinced myself my class didn’t start until 5. I thought I was early, and I feel badly. I know most (if not all) of the students don’t care. I didn’t mean to shirk my responsibilities today. I had been on campus the whole time. Luckily I taught ahead last week, so we’ll be fine on pacing. Oh well. Mistakes happen, right?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 21, 2010 in education

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Oops…

  1. Miss Teacha

    September 21, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    it happens to us all don’t feel bad!

     

Leave a Reply

 
