RSS

Burning Calories

18 Sep

This is going to be all about my personal thoughts on cardio workouts. It may completely go against what you think.

I went to a zumba class the other night. I’ll tell you up front that it was super fun. I had a great time dancing around to fun music with  my MIL, a good friend. I have no criticism against the concept of zumba. However, the whole time I kept thinking about the people who were relying on this for their sole source of exercise. From that standpoint, I think it’s a waste of time.  I could have carried a conversation through almost all of the workout, and that’s not because I wasn’t trying. I’ll admit, I’ve got pretty decent cardio, but I have it from crossfitting. I’ll guarantee that trading those 4-5 hours a week at zumba for picking up something heavy and completing some short metabolic conditioning workouts would be so much more effective.  Media tells us to burn calories and that caloric deficits are the only way to lose weight. I’m here to tell you that’s not true. The chronic cardio and low calorie diets will result in weight loss, yes, but it is not sustainable. Your body just will not allow you to work it to death and starve it along the way for any length of time. Thousands of women play the terrible mind games with themselves by counting every calorie, point, and fat gram, spending hours doing cardio, and still feeling like they’re losing the battle of weight loss. It saddens my heart. You can drop almost all of that weight you want to lose simply by changing how you eat. Exercise is of course good and beneficial, but it’s not the key to weight loss. Let me walk you through 30 days that can change your life in a sustainable way. I’m at the gym less than 3 hours a week. I like what I eat, and a few times a week, I eat whatever I want….except gluten…because it’s evil. I’m not as super fit and toned as I’d like to be simply because my work schedule does not allow me to workout the way I want to, but at 27, I’m in better shape than I’ve ever been in my life, I’m no longer stuck on that terrible emotional roller coaster about my body image, diet, and exercise, and I know this is a lifestyle, not a fad. Husband and I plan to go out strong. Most of the time that means pick up something heavy and do some burpees, and sometimes it can mean go have a good time at zumba…followed by a burpee cashout.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 18, 2010 in crossfit

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Burning Calories

  1. miss teacha

    September 18, 2010 at 8:59 am

    Thank you so much for this. I really needed that encouragement!

     

Leave a Reply

 
