RSS

Numbers

15 Sep

I don’t like that society has caused most women (and lots of men as well) to be slaves to the numbers displayed on a scale. I was recently discussing with a couple of women who are walking through the 30 day Paleo challenge. Neither said they were sure the change was worth it, so we talked about why. Both explained that their clothes fit better. Many of them were too baggy. They also commented that many people around were noticing how slim they were getting and that they just plain “looked good.” I asked what was causing them to be disappointed, and both said it was because they were not seeing the numbers go down on the scale. Now, how does that work? You feel better, your clothes are baggy, other women comment on how great you look, but you’re still not happy because some silly little battery-operated machine still says nothing changed? Clearly that makes sense, but sadly it’s the lie we’ve bought into as a society. I’ve recently dropped a couple more pounds. I’ll admit, a small part of me rejoices at seeing that stupid number get a little smaller, but ultimately I’m sad about it because I’m pretty sure I’ve lost some muscle. The advent of the new school year made my workout schedule slow down considerably. I’m trying to get back into the saddle of a consistent 3-4 times a week. More than that though, I want 3-4 serious, hard-hitting workouts…not just surviving and getting it done. We’ll see though. This is a lifestyle for me, not a race. I want it to be sustainable, and not something I burn out on.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 15, 2010 in crossfit

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
