RSS

Random Rant: Body Odor

11 Sep

Warning, this may be a little personal. Stop reading if you want to avoid tarnishing the super-hero image you currently hold of me. 😉

If you didn’t already know, husband and I are sort of Bohemian. We stopped eating most processed foods, don’t use normal soap or deodorant, and he uses baking soda and water for shampoo (I’m not there yet). Husband has noticed that our lifestyle changes have facilitated diminishing body odor. This decrease is not just after working out, but in life in general. Additionally, I’ve shared about our love affair with the Vibram Five Fingers. His feet hardly smell when he takes his off.  Now let’s talk about me…I smell….not all the time, but on occasion I’ll be going through my day and just catch a rank whiff of myself. This is not a good quality when you teach middle school, except I suppose I likely fit in and they don’t even notice, but I digress. Also, the Five Fingers are out of control when I take them off. They need to be febreezed immediately and my feet go into the sink. This is not fair. Boys are supposed to smell and girls aren’t. I would just go back to real deodorant, but since we’re kind of hippies, I’m sure I’ll get cancer if I do. When this stick is done I’ll be trying a new brand. Anyone out there had good experiences with natural deodorants?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2010 in Random Rants

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Random Rant: Body Odor

  1. Miss Teacha

    September 11, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    ((((Jessica)))) no advice for “organic living”, although I’m doing more organic stufff. . . .this big girl needs her chemicals! 😉

    I don’t know if this is organic/bohemian . . .my mother taught me this one: I swap my armpits with a 90% topical alcohol before applying deodorant. . . . something about shrinking the pores to minimize odor. I’ve had a great success with it b/c my deodorants usually stop working after extended use and I have to switch brands. Since doing this, I haven’t had to switch brands. Is alcohol organic enough? Oh, and make sure your armpits dry before you apply the deodorant. There have been days I’ve actually forgotten to apply the deodorant while waiting for my pits to dry and when I got home the smell wasn’t that bad.

    You can put baking soda in your shoes. . .it will exfoliate your feet while helping to control the odor. I usually put some in and shake it around and dump the excess in the trash can. Then slip my feet in. . . .also, what will help with odor is if your shoes are completely DRY (from your sweat) before you put them on again. Set them out on the hot porch and let them dry out after use.

     
  2. brooks bush

    September 12, 2010 at 8:31 am

    I think Lorraine bought natural deodorant at Clark’s, probably would be worth a check, lol. Pretty sure the chemicals from febreeze are not good to be absorbed by your feet. Baking soda and air.

     
    • jalzen

      September 12, 2010 at 3:24 pm

      I hear the baking soda thing, ladies, but when I’ve used it in the past it was much worse than without. I’ll check out what’s at Clark’s though and perhaps the rubbing alcohol thing.

       

Leave a Reply

 
