RSS

Just Around the River Bend

07 Sep

There is so much going on. I’m in the throes of completing grad school applications. Three are complete and ready to be mailed off this weekend, and the other two will be completed (hopefully) by the end of September. I’m following up on recommendation letters, waiting for transcripts to come in, and polishing up application essays. All of this while beginning the school year. I love my job and am truly enjoying my students. Because I worked to meticulously catalog everything I made last year, I don’t have as much teacher work to do after school or on the weekends, but I picked up two tradition classes at the local university, so my teaching load is a little heavy this semester. That’s ok. I’m busy but choosing joy, refusing to be stressed, and finding ways to enjoy what will likely be my last year in the classroom. This is bittersweet for me, and I”m not sure what to do with the emotions at this point–mostly because I can’t really wade through my own emotions most of the time. The old Disney “Just Around the River Bend” song seems to describe my life pretty well right now. I’m looking for what’s “just around the river bend” while also trying to be present in the current moment. I’m excited, scared, nervous, terrified, thrilled, and just plain confused sometimes on all the things that are happening and what the future will hold for Team Alzen. I’ll keep you updated. For now we live in the same old house, but likely not for much longer…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 7, 2010 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Just Around the River Bend

  1. Shari Micheli

    September 7, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    What a whirlwind! I will be so sad if you leave our school. You contribute so much – in many ways. But, I know you have high aspirations, and we need people like you doing what you want to do with your future. I’m feeling old – because it’s exciting to see how you have so much ahead of you. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
