RSS

Hobbies

18 Aug

Typically when someone asks me what my hobbies are I list things husband and I do together. These are things we do, but they aren’t really MY hobbies. When I think of MY hobbies, I typically struggle to find an answer because I work so much. I like to work, but that’s not healthy. My default answer is read or watch movies. These aren’t all that great either. I got to thinking about this the other day. I’ve dabbled in many hobbies including but probably not limited to the following: scrapbooking, crocheting, knitting, hemp jewelry making, cross stitching, friendship bracelet making, key chain making, quilting, and sewing. I haven’t done any of these things for a couple of years because I simply told myself I don’t have time. In an effort to by busy rather than stressed, I’ve decided I do have time. These are hobbies. That means there is no deadline. They are things I like to do in my free time. I’m bringing it back. I broke out my long ago abandoned craft box and sifted through things. I threw out things I will never use again, found a hat I made for a friend a couple of years ago and never gave to her, and discovered several unfinished projects. I now have the “current project” bag that I will keep in our living room. It currently has an almost finished knitted scarf, yarn for a scarf and hat I want to crochet, several bracelets I previously started, and my hemp jewelry stuff. I’m excited to pick up the bag whenever I feel like it and work on one of these projects. There’s no stress and no deadline–just something to do to keep my hands busy when I’m relaxing.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 18, 2010 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

One response to “Hobbies

  1. keenhobbyist

    December 23, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Hey, if you are interested, check out http://thenewhobbyist.wordpress.com
    It is all about raising awareness of lesser know hobbies, and teaching people about them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
