RSS

African Dress

14 Aug

The past two summers I traveled overseas to Rwanda to complete professional development seminars and other education projects. This year I decided to stay home to spend time with the husband, develop a new ministry at our church, and start the grad school process. When I went to send my friends off who were serving this summer, it was a little bittersweet. I knew that being home was where I should be this year, but I was definitely sad to not be on that adventure once again. To experience a little bit of overseas fever at home, I worked on a project with a piece of fabric I brought back from Rwanda last summer.

MIL is a great seamstress. I’m terrible at it. If I have very specific directions, I am able to make something wearable, but it doesn’t always look great. I was determined that this project would look great because the fabric is priceless to me. I probably paid what amounts to $5 for the fabric itself, but it holds an abundance of fantastic memories with some of the greatest friends I know I will ever have. It took me at least three times as long as it would have taken my MIL to make on her own, but I’m proud of the final product!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2010 in Summer

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “African Dress

  1. becks

    August 14, 2010 at 11:52 am

    Ok, first I just love this post because it’s Africa and us. Second, you look hot in that dress. Third, how are you so tan?

     
    • jalzen

      August 14, 2010 at 3:03 pm

      LOL! You’re too funny. Thanks for the compliment. I think I’ll forever love this dress because it will always remind me of those trips. I’m so tan from daily sunshine and paleo eating.

       
  2. Heather

    August 14, 2010 at 12:26 pm

    Looks awesome! Nice work:)

     
  3. Miss Teacha

    August 14, 2010 at 3:30 pm

    cute, cute, cute!!!! you did a wonderful job! Man that Paleo eating has worked wonders for you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
