RSS

Back to School Rituals

07 Aug

I’ve spent the least amount of time in my classroom this summer. In previous years I’d start going in for a few days a week up to 3 weeks before school started. This year I’m going in 4 days early. That’s it. Hopefully it all gets done. If not, I’ll figure it out. Everything always works out, and it’s not necessary to be weeks ahead at a time. This is part of my plan for being busy but not stressed. There are some must dos for me though.

-New syllabi
-Fresh bulletin boards
-Seating charts based on test scores

What are your “must dos” before school starts?

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2010 in education

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Back to School Rituals

  1. miss teacha

    August 7, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Seating charts based on test scores??? What that about? Is there research you’re using for this plan? Need to find out more

     
  2. Becks

    August 8, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Well, one of my “must do” rituals that has nothing to do with actual classroom prep, but rather is a heart prep thing is to watch Freedom Writers. Every year, the night before the first day of school, I pop that movie in just to remember again some of the many reasons why I entered this profession. It gets me all amped and pumped and ready to go again if being in my classroom and seeing all my rosters and coworkers again hasn’t quite done the trick for me. Don’t know if I’ll ever get sick of watching the film long about year 27 of teaching, but so far, going on to year 4, I’m still looking forward to watching it in a few weeks 🙂

     
  3. Mariana Anaya

    August 15, 2010 at 10:53 am

    In regards to seating arrangements… I always start by seating them in rows by alphabetical order, last name 1st & then modify their seating arrangements based on assessments & personal vibes… usually takes me about 3-days 2 learn student names! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
