RSS

A Thin Line

06 Aug

My life seems to exist on the thin line between busy and stressed. I’m pretty sure I’m always busy because I’m that kind of person. If I have some free time, I fill it. In all reality, I’m probably always pretty close to the same level of busy, but sometimes I let it get the best of me. Then I get stressed. I often set deadlines for myself that are unrealistic or just plain silly. I’ve learned to manage some of this by list-making. When I put everything that has to get done on a list, I often am unable to put things on that I want to get done because I can literally tell by looking at the list that it’s just not going to happen. Husband pointed out that I was spending too much time on the stressed side of the line. Since I’m officially going back to work in just a few short days, I’m focusing on spending more time on the busy side rather than stressed. More time in the Word helps me with this a lot, as well as my mandatory work Sabbath every weekend. I’ll keep working on it as the school year begins.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2010 in Team Alzen!

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “A Thin Line

  1. Erin

    August 6, 2010 at 10:45 am

    I couldn’t understand this post more personally. Seriously. I have about a million other comments, all that you probably already know. I’m working on becoming more cognizant of when I’m crossing the line from busy to stressed. When I can identify those times, I am even more dilligent in the things that matter–like seeking peace. It’s hard, I don’t always let God speak peace into my life, and sometimes I end up in a stress frenzy. But when I maintain busy with God’s peace, knowing I avoided that bout of stress, I feel victory.

     
  2. brooks bush

    August 6, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Jessica,

    You also need to give your self a break and realize what a good and giving person you are. It is ok to be busy, ok to be driven and ok to rest. You are wonderful and need to remind yourself how wonderful, kind and sharing you are each day.

     
    • jalzen

      August 6, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Brooks, your friendship means so much to me. Thank you for reminding me of some important stuff. You often help to remind me not to take myself too seriously and to really live. Erin, how funny it is that we are so similar. God knew that and made us friends. I love knowing that you often share my heart and that we can help one another battle ourselves.

       

Leave a Reply

 
