RSS

E-Mailing

28 Jul

I’ve been in the throes of e-mailing multiple professors at different institutions, so this has kept me glued to my e-mail multiple times a day trying to keep up. While corresponding with a graduate student and one school, she referred me to a friend who she thought would be more helpful with some of my questions, but the referral came with the warning that she doesn’t check her e-mail very often. That’s totally cool with me. It will be one less e-mail I feel the pressure to answer right away. However, I thought that was weird. Are there lots of people who don’t check their e-mail frequently? When I’m not at work, I check at least twice a day. When I am at work, the e-mail window stays open and I check it every time I walk by my computer. Am I abnormal? How often do you check your e-mail?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “E-Mailing

  1. Matt Townsley

    July 28, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Work email – regularly throughout the day during the school year. Weekends/summer/break – probably once per day.

    Personal email – It’s on my phone and I still check it on a computer at least 5 times per day.

    Exceptions to these standards probably happen on vacations out of the state when work email may only be checked once every few days.

    Not sure if these are healthy habits or not, but my local reality. Good question.

     
  2. David

    July 28, 2010 at 9:02 am

    I don’t think you’re abnormal… per se. BUT, I do check my email at least once every 24 hours. I do take an email Sabbath once in a while, but nothing longer than 3 days. Today, it took me an hour to check all my different emails and respond. Not what I was hoping for, but it was needed. I do need help having all my emails sent to 1 place. Opening 8 (that’s a bit dramatic, but hey… it’s me) different windows is almost annoying.

     
  3. Laci Morgan

    July 28, 2010 at 11:16 am

    I check mine pretty frequently, as I am on the computer all day anyway and a client might have a question. On personal time, I check it every now and then when I’m bored or am waiting around somewhere; it’s on my phone. I probably check it more than most, but people who NEVER check theirs really bug me, especially if it’s a client and I need feedback about artwork I sent. Grrr, there’s like no excuse to not check your email at least every other day, it’s so accessible now.

     
  4. Nikki Faith

    July 28, 2010 at 12:13 pm

    You’re totally normal. I’ve been working on mindfulness and TRY to limit myself to checking e-mail twice a day… In the past, I too would keep the e-mail window while working and field things as they come in.

     
  5. Nikki Faith

    July 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm

    BTW, I’m also judging you as normal based on all the other people I know who typically keep their e-mail windows open.

     

Leave a Reply

 
