RSS

Grad School Research

27 Jul

Applying to grad school appears to be a tricky process. It’s time-consuming, but interesting; frustrating, but fantastic. I’m currently in the process of discussing with professors at several institutions about their research interests and current projects at their schools. My biggest problem right now is making decisions. At first it seemed like no one I e-mailed was going to be a good fit, and I started getting concerned. However, all the professors have been super nice and helpful and nearly every school has directed me to at least one professor who I feel would be a great fit. The problem now is that I can’t seem to focus what I want to research. Every school has multiple things that are interested to me. I’m not sure how I’m going to write a Statement of Purpose that doesn’t make me look like I’m all over the place. So far here are things that have interested me:

-Teacher induction programs

-Measuring teacher effectiveness

-Assessment & Accountability

-Teaching Mathematics

-Pre and In-Service Professional Development

These are sweeping topics that each encompass several other more specific research interests and projects. Hopefully my advisor will help me out. I’m kind of thinking the school or advisor will help decide for me based on where there is a place for me in their programs.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2010 in Summer, Team Alzen!

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Grad School Research

  1. David

    July 28, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Can I say that the “Teaching Mathematics” seems very specific compared to the rest. If you gear yourself to the overall, teacher improvement and development ideas you have, I think Math will fall into that nicely. Also, thing of the greater impact you’d make when discussing educational topics with all teachers, not just math.

     
    • jalzen

      July 28, 2010 at 9:30 am

      I totally agree, but all the programs I’ve looked at Have you working through the lens of a specific discipline. To combat this, I’m going to see if I can get involved in research projects in at least two disciples, but we’ll see.

       

Leave a Reply

 
