RSS

Random Rant: “Stay” by Sugarland

16 Jul

I love country music. While I like most music at least a little bit, I’m pretty sure I love country the most. The songs tell such great stories, and I identify with so many of them. The husband and I bond most of country songs and lyrics. I think some of the best love songs are written for country artists. For a while, I loved “Stay” by Sugarland A LOT. Then one day we’re driving in the car, I’m singing along, and husband says “you know she’s the other woman, right?” Excuse me, what?! I went back over the lyrics, and there are a couple of lines that make it obvious she’s the other woman. I don’t know how I missed them before, but now when I hear this song I just get really angry and even more angry because I really like the tune.

I’ve been sitting here staring at the clock on the wall
And I’ve been laying here praying, praying she won’t call
It’s just another call from home
And you’ll get it and be gone
And I’ll be crying

Let’s begin the rant, shall we? I don’t care that you’ll be crying, lady. You’re with another woman’s HUSBAND. He made life-long promises to her, not you.

What do I have to do to make you see
She can’t love you like me?

Of course his wife can’t love him the way you do, because they way you love him is a cheap, worldly sort of love–not the love shared by two people committed to one another for life.

Why don’t you stay
I’m down on my knees
I’m so tired of being lonely
Don’t I give you what you need
When she calls you to go
There is one thing you should know
We don’t have to live this way
Baby, why don’t you stay

I don’t care that you’re on your knees or that you’re lonely. Go find someone who hasn’t made commitments yet. Not to mention if this man would cheat on his current wife with you, what’s to say he won’t do the same thing to you later on? This is all around a bad situation.

You keep telling me, baby
There will come a time
When you will leave her arms
And forever be in mine
But I don’t think that’s the truth
And I don’t like being used and I’m tired of waiting
It’s too much pain to have to bear
To love a man you have to share

I don’t necessarily think this guy’s a winner since he’s offering one or both of these women empty promises, but still. I don’t think you’re the only one being used, and I don’t feel sorry for you for waiting. You shouldn’t be sharing. Some things are not up for sharing. They belong to one person only.

I can’t take it any longer
But my will is getting stronger
And I think I know just what I have to do
I can’t waste another minute
After all that I’ve put in it
I’ve given you my best
Why does she get the best of you
So next time you find you wanna leave her bed for mine

Why don’t you stay
I’m up off my knees
I’m so tired of being lonely
You can’t give me what I need
When she begs you not to go
There is one thing you should know
I don’t have to live this way
Baby, why don’t you stay, yeah

This verse really gets under my skin. In live recordings of this song, the whole crowd starts cheering at this woman’s strength as she finally decides to tell this man to stop leaving his wife for her. Great! He should stop leaving his wife for her because he’s supposed to be a loving and committed husband! Not because his mistress finally gets the guts to end a relationship with someone who she has no right to lay claims to. She gets the best of him because he promised to give it to her, not you. Grr! It makes me so angry!

Thank you for listening. Sorry about the random rant.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2010 in Random Rants

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Random Rant: “Stay” by Sugarland

  1. Mike

    July 16, 2010 at 6:31 am

    Lol I can see you getting angry just reading this. Also, I would appreciate it if you would stop hitting me every time the song comes on.

     
  2. wendeth

    July 16, 2010 at 10:04 am

    AMEN SISTA!! It’s interesting, I was listening to a song the other day and I thought “why are we applauding, or rooting for, these adulterous songs…..are we in fact rooting for the selfish nature in all of us?? Rap music is one of my favorite styles, but I just can’t stand to listen to it because the lyrics are just so awful!!!! Yes, country and rap tell stories, and yes these are stories people are going through, but I remember when STay came out…oh people just went crazy and they performed it live and oh my the response. Like you I was thinking maybe SHE was the wife, but alas…no.

    I’m so glad you ranted

     
  3. Erin

    July 16, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I love it (it here being your hate for the song, not the song!), and I love that your rant inspired such a detailed analysis. This is (one of the reasons) why you’re awesome!

     

Leave a Reply

 
