RSS

Random Rant: Halloween

10 Jul

So I realize it’s July, but I’m going to throw in a random rant about Halloween.

Those of you who know me know that I do not do young children. Obviously I love kids. I’m a teacher. Once they’re 11 or so, kids are pretty alright, some are even awesome, but before then not so much. There are only a select few kids that I actually love, and frankly, it’s by proxy because I love their parents….but I digress.

So Halloween…all the kids get dressed up and their parents follow them around the neighborhood trick or treating. May I ask who is at home when all the kids are out with their parents? That’s right. Us folks who don’t have kids. So basically this holiday centers around those without kids giving candy to kids. I think there’s some unfairness going on here. Now I’m not blaming all you parents. I’m sure you’re super stoked to take your kids out to take all kinds of candy from strangers and then deal with the hyperactive consequences. I do, however, think that we need to think up an equal holiday where  those families with kids do something cool for all of us without. I’m open to suggestions.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Random Rants

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Random Rant: Halloween

  1. wendeth

    July 10, 2010 at 1:50 am

    well…..if you’d like to come by my house with a bag, I’ll give you some food…probably not candy as you are well aware of the food I give to children.

    If I may point out…..sometimes only ONE parent goes out with the children, or a designated driver from the local carpool gets stuck with multiple children from multiple families (what a crappy job in my opinion). There are also the grandparents, or people who have children but are either too old or too young to go out.

    BUT, yes, there are a lot of non-child bearers out there who are subject to filling up plastic bags/buckets of dressed up children—–and it’s better you have your rant in July so no one eggs your house for being a cranky old lady 😛

     
    • jalzen

      July 10, 2010 at 9:03 am

      Thank you to all for the comments. Good points brought up that I did not think of. And frankly, I’ll bet you parents don’t really want your kids hopped up on all that sugar anyway. You’ll see that part 2 has been published in hopes to not offend people. And David, thanks for not telling me I’ll feel differently. 🙂

       
  2. David Duez

    July 10, 2010 at 8:04 am

    I used to hate it when people would tell me, “Oh, you’ll feel differently once you have kids of your own.” So I won’t do that. 🙂

     
  3. David

    July 10, 2010 at 8:48 am

    I remember my dad walking me and my brothers around the neighborhood while my mom was home handing out candy. The door to door truck or treating is slowing SLOWLY becoming a holiday pastime. Remember, this holiday surrounds kids in general… Kids with 2 parents, kids with 1 parent, kids at heart, and kids who like to scare other kids.

     

Leave a Reply

 
