RSS

Random Rant: Halloween Part 2

10 Jul

Ok, so I realize that I sound like a crabby old lady, and I’m not at all angry with the comments, but I realized that perhaps I should have a follow-up post so I don’t get hated on for the rest of blogging or real life.

I will admit that I didn’t think about the one parent with multiple children or the couples who split duties. In my experience as a kid, no one I knew did either of those things. With all of my friends, both parents went out, so I didn’t even think of this possibility.

Also, I think harvest festivals and the like are awesome. In fact, I’ve been the organizer, administrator, and implementer of one such festival, and it was great fun. They celebrate children and are for the community. I love those. It’s the door to door thing that bothers me. I hate being home and not being able to do anything because the door bell is going to ring any minute, so we typically go out. Then I feel a slight sense of guilt for going out because I’m not there for the kids and all that. I know they are sad when there isn’t a good turnout.

Anyway, I’m just sharing the feeling some people who don’t have children may have. I’m not hating on you or your kid specifically. I want you kid to have fun and be celebrated. I just want to chose to partake in that celebration, not be subject to a societal pressure.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 10, 2010 in Random Rants

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Random Rant: Halloween Part 2

  1. wendeth

    July 10, 2010 at 9:17 am

    you make me laugh…hey, don’t justify being a crabby lady! 🙂 On two levels I don’t feel sorry for anyone missing out on your house, one is because I’m sure they are still going home with FAR MORE candy than they’ve ever seen through the year. The other level isn’t necessary to write.

    You are a great kiddie lady, and anyone with children knows that.

     
    • jalzen

      July 10, 2010 at 10:59 am

      Lol. Thanks. It was supposed to be funny, sort of. But at the same time providing some sort of small social commentary on a very superficial level. I appreciate being reminded of other aspects of the holiday I hadn’t thought of. And thanks for reminding me that I can be good with kids–even if they make me feel awkward sometimes.

       
  2. brooks

    July 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    You know it is just fun. You are a bit early for Halloween, so I am thinking a bit crabby, lol. Candy is part of the fun, but dressing up is the best. Running from house to house dressed in your favorite costume is a blast! You don’t have to be a “kid” person to enjoy the sheer happiness on their little faces!

    Remember, if you are not in the spirit, don’t turn your porch light on and if you did trick or treat you may just be giving back some of the joy.

     
    • jalzen

      July 10, 2010 at 7:55 pm

      You know what? I think you’ve totally got something there. I’m probably not a big fan because I went out maybe 4 or 5 times growing up. Since I don’t have those memories of running around having a blast, I don’t associate the holiday with that. I’d probably also be more into it if I lived in a neighborhood where I knew the kids and we were more of a community. I like watching the kids at the festivals and parties, and I love seeing my friends’ kids dressed up having a good time. Oh well. I guess I’m just a little crabby.

       

Leave a Reply

 
