RSS

Home Made Candy!

08 Jul

So my grandpa has always been the husband’s hero because the one time we went to visit them my grandpa had  a bunch of home made candy. After the movies a few weeks back Michael and I decided to try making some of our own candy. Joyful Abode was my source of inspiration again with her awesome peppermint patties recipe.

Here’s our adaptation:

We got the 1 lb. block of 72% dark chocolate from Trader Joe’s and melted it down in the microwave. For fillings we had sun butter (my favorite), almond butter, and tasty mint goodness (Michael’s favorite).

To make the mint filling we simply mixed coconut butter with mint extract.

I’m not as cool as Joyful Abode, so I couldn’t get mine to come out looking all fancy shaping them by hand. I had to use this Wilton’s mini muffin “tin” as a mold, but it worked out great! We used the tops of water bottles to hold a space for the sun butter. They were amazing!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2010 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Home Made Candy!

  1. Miss Teacha

    July 8, 2010 at 8:47 am

    looks really good! wtg.

     
  2. Joyful Abode

    July 8, 2010 at 11:45 am

    Mmm I think those look great! I was thinking of doing some “Resses Peanut Butter Cups” but w/almond butter, in mini muffin liners… love your idea about the bottle caps – were the caps hard to get out of the chocolate though?

     
    • jalzen

      July 8, 2010 at 4:17 pm

      Not really. The second time I made them I dipped them in melted coconut oil first. They came out easier, but then there was a little bit of coconut oil residue in the candies.

       

Leave a Reply

 
