RSS

Cocoa and Coconut Snacks

30 Jun

I recently went out and spent a lovely day with friends on a boat. It was a great time, and I was thankful to my friend for including me in the invite. I brought some snacks, including this recipe from Mark’s Daily Apple. I was calling them nut balls because I didn’t know they actually had a name, which they did, cocoa and coconut snacks. This name is much less awkward, so I’m going with it. I did make a few minor adjustments, but the original recipe is from MDA.

Here’s what I did:

In a food processor, grind the following and then set aside

1/2 cup each of almonds, pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts, pumpkin seeds
1/4 cup coffee beans (vary based on how strong you want the coffee flavor)
1/4 cup dried, unsweetened coconut
2 tbsp 100% raw cacao powder (vary based on how strong you want the chocolate flavor)

De-seed 3-6 dates depending on how sweet you want your snacks and process them until they are smooth. I used 6.

Combine nut mixture and dates and pour in 2-4 tbsp of melted coconut oil. I used 4, but I think it was a little too much.

Use your hands to mix and roll into 1″ balls. Roll the balls in more dried coconut to keep them from being too sticky.

Refrigerate for about 30 minutes before serving so they get a chance to firm up.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 30, 2010 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
