RSS

Motivation to Teach

24 Jun

The conversation about motivation in the classroom has been going around. Miss teacha posted about it here, and recently a friend on my campus asked me if I was bored teaching the same thing for 6 years.

I completely agreed with miss teacha’s advice for how to avoid burnout, but I have to argue that part of why I have yet to be bored about teaching is that every summer I read at least one teacher book as well as several teacher blogs.

I get excited reading about what other teachers do that I can steal and modify for my own room. I also like to know what’s going on in educational research and what I can do to make my classroom part of that conversation.

All of this to say I’ve done the bulk of my summer teacher reading already. Plus I’ve had a bunch of other stuff going on. Hopefully I’m getting enough rest in as well so I don’t go back to work burnt out. Hopefully I’ll still be a faithful blogger and keep you updated at that time.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2010 in education

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Motivation to Teach

  1. Nikki Faith

    June 24, 2010 at 11:01 am

    Have you read The Composition Instructor’s Survival Guide? Pretty good lil’ book. 🙂

     
    • jalzen

      June 24, 2010 at 12:50 pm

      I haven’t. I may need to check it out. Though I don’t know that I’ll teach comp again. I’ve got two math classes in the fall.

       

Leave a Reply

 
