RSS

How Often

22 Jun

Ok, in my attempts at being a better housewife, I’m looking to improve my frequency of certain chores. We’re not going to talk about how often I do them now because some of you may never come over to my house again. However, I’m interested in what others think is appropriate. So, how often do you…

-change your sheets?

-vacuum your house?

-wash floor mats?

-scrub toilets?

-clean showers?

-clean kitchen floor?

-wash windows & clean window sills?

-wash window treatments?

-dust?

I started the summer with a spreadsheet of household chores that would get all of these chores and more done each and every week. Yeah, that’s not happening. Let’s just say not all of them have made it into week two. Because of our eating and cooking regimen, we have to constantly clean the stove top, kitchen counters, and do dishes, so we’re pretty good on those chores. Otherwise, I’m wondering how much I’m slacking behind amazing homemakers like this.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2010 in Housewifery

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “How Often

  1. Desiree

    June 22, 2010 at 9:17 am

    I clean the entire bathroom and the floors every week. Wash your sheets at least once a week if not twice a week. You should vacuum and sweep at least twice a week. Dust at least once a week, we polish (pledge) every other week. Good luck!

     
  2. Miss Teacha

    June 22, 2010 at 9:40 am

    Have you ever checked out the FlyLady’s website? She has tons of info on hour to organize your cleanup: http://www.flylady.net/ I’ll bet she includes frequencies of how the stuff should be done.

    Remember, I live ALONE, so its only me & my dirt:
    -change your sheets? 1 per week. Usually Sunday night
    -vacuum your house? every other week
    -wash floor mats? every 2 months or sos
    -scrub toilets? EVERY WEEK!
    -clean showers? Once a month
    -clean kitchen floor? Once a month, really should be more frequent, but I’m a hands/knees gal, I don’t like mops, all they do is push the dirt around. I sweep as needed–quitefrequently.
    -wash windows & clean window sills? when I see dirt–this could be months
    -wash window treatments? don’t have any. Live in apt with tons of blinds. Come to think of it I probably should run the vacuum brush over them. TMI
    -dust? not enough. My mother dusts once a week.

     
  3. Nikki Faith

    June 22, 2010 at 10:57 am

    -change your sheets? weekly

    -vacuum your house? every other week (hubby talked me into that; I prefer weekly)

    -wash floor mats? ummm…. good idea!!

    -scrub toilets? again, hubby talked me into every other week

    -clean showers? every other week

    -clean kitchen floor? every other week

    -wash windows & clean window sills? another good idea! 😉

    -wash window treatments? we just got our first fabric drapes a few months ago…

    -dust? every other week

     
  4. jalzen

    June 22, 2010 at 11:15 am

    Whew! Good to hear that not everyone does all of these things every week. The ones everyone is saying will take a week are the ones I expected I should be doing that often. We’ll see if I can get back on the bandwagon this week. Also, thanks for the link! I’ll definitely be checking flylady out!

     
  5. Bethany

    June 22, 2010 at 1:32 pm

    I’m a little embarrassed to admit that I don’t really have a set cleaning schedule. It just kinda happens when things bug me enough that I know they need to get done. My tolerance for filth just might be different than everyone elses.

    -change your sheets – no longer than every other week. Sometimes every week.

    -vacuum your house – every other week? Somethings need some spot cleaning here and there.

    -wash floor mats – every time I clean the bathrooms/mop the floors. I love clean mats. I would buy new ones regularly if I could.

    -scrub toilets – every week (this and the bathroom counters are my biggest pet peeve for clean)

    -clean showers – mmmmm. . a little embarrassed to admit . . as long as I can possibly stand it. I HATE cleaning the shower. Don’t judge . . . it could only be once a month.

    -clean kitchen floor – mop as needed. I do sweep regularly though. The crumbs gross me out.

    -wash windows & clean window sills – Window sills get wiped down once a month or so . . usually while I’m dusting. Clean the windows? When they look like they need to be done. Handprints are making them a little more frequent.

    -wash window treatments – we only have blinds. I think I only scrub those down every few months or so . .or 6?

    -dust – ha! When it bugs me enough that it needs to get done. Every 3 weeks or so?

    See? We’re not THAT clean, just picked up. Now the secret is out.

     
    • jalzen

      June 23, 2010 at 8:40 am

      Yeah, your bathroom is what always impresses me the most. It’s impeccable! And I HATE cleaning showers too. It’s the biggest pain in the butt. Thanks for weighing in.

       
  6. Jennifer

    June 26, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Um, I totally suck at cleaning. As with you, I start with great intentions and don’t follow through very well. The kitchen gets cleaned when we use it (which isn’t very often), the bathroom gets cleaned once a week, the wood floors get mopped when people are coming over (Dave’s chore of choice) and I usually dust the entire house twice a month… nothing else gets done with any pattern. I tease that I’ll pay someone to do it and that may be the only way it all gets done…

     
    • jalzen

      June 26, 2010 at 9:52 am

      I love that this is true of you. In a lot of ways, I think we’re similar, so it’s nice to know that I”m not the only one who fails at regularly cleaning her house.

       

Leave a Reply

 
