RSS

Floor Mats

15 Jun

I’m good at a lot of things. Housewifery is not one of them. I expect this will be one of many posts exploiting my poor housewifery skills. Today’s episode comes from the floor mats in my house, you know, those ones in your bathroom and kitchen. They have that rubbery stuff on the bottom so that they don’t slide all over the place. Apparently that rubbery stuff doesn’t last very long, and by very long I mean four or five years.

We had to let our cleaning service go due to finances, so I’m stuck cleaning my own house again. I started my weekly rotation of chores this week and today included washing all of the floor mats in the house. When I put the mats in the washing machine, nearly all of the rubbery stuff came off the back. It covered the bottom of my washing machine and spilled down the lint trap in the dryer. I felt like a member of the Incompetent Pool as I vacuumed out the bottom of my washing machine. These are now trash, and I’ll be buying new ones.

Am I missing something? How are you supposed to clean these things? I think they’re just old. Am I wrong?

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 15, 2010 in Housewifery

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Floor Mats

  1. cordiwife

    June 15, 2010 at 8:31 am

    First. You are a mad blogging woman! More than one post a day?! You make the rest of us look bad 😉
    Second. I don’t have any rugs with the rubbery things on the bottom, but yes, they might be old and also, how did you wash them? I would go gentle/hand washable cycle and dry them low or air dry them. Not sure if that helps, but they do sell a plethora of rugs without rubbery things on the bottom that wash well and then I can throw them in the wash every other week without even thinking about it.

     
  2. Miss Teacha

    June 15, 2010 at 2:13 pm

    You aren’t incompetent,but I don’t think they are supposed to go in the dryer. I buy the ones from pier one without the plastic stuff on the bottom–although, I still have 1 or 2 with the plastic stuff. I wash them ALL in the washing machine. I HANG the ones with rubber stuff them all in the bathroom overnight to dry. When they are dry, I take the vacuum cleaner and run it over them. For some reason, the fibers of these things are loose and they shed and make a big mess. But vacuuming them has solved the problem. Hope my thoughts help.

     
    • jalzen

      June 15, 2010 at 6:17 pm

      Hmm…thanks for the info on the mats. I’ll definitely use a different strategy next time.

       
  3. Desiree

    June 16, 2010 at 4:47 pm

    You aren’t supposed to dry them. You wash them and then set them outside to dry. Eventually the mats will lose the rubbery stuff from washing but not for a long time.

     

Leave a Reply

 
