RSS

Paleo as a Lifestyle not a Diet

14 Jun

When I first heard about Paleo, I was sure I could never do it. I believe I actually said “I’m Asian. I need rice!” I was also so obsessed with whole grains and fiber that I was sure bodily functions could not properly work without them. Then husband and I took the challenge to eat only the most nutrient dense foods for 30 days. We broke our old food habits and had the complete intention of adding foods back in. Then we realized how amazing we felt eating this way! We’re both crazy about this lifestyle and would willing talk in-depth to anyone who’s interested about it. Unless you ask though, I probably won’t share a lot for fear of freaking you out. Here, however, is a short list of why I will likely be a Paleo eater for life!

1) In 7th-grade I developed this weird rash on my torso that would come and go. I went to several doctors about it and everyone told me I was allergic to my clothes or the detergent I was using. After switching detergents several times and washing all my clothes, I decided they didn’t know what they were talking about. After eating Paleo for a couple of months, it disappeared completely.

2) You know that awful bloated feeling you get after you eat too much? Yeah, that’s gone. Even if I eat until I know I can’t hold any more food, I never feel bloated like that.

3) I didn’t realize it until after I switched, but I actually feel like I fit in my body now. I feel the size I am and I feel good about it because I’ve eaten well.

4) Body composition is 80% diet, so yes, I do go to the gym a lot now, but even if I stopped, I wouldn’t gain a bunch of weight.

5) I perform better at the gym. I HATED PE as a kid. I was weak, uncoordinated, and generally unhealthy. Now, on most days, I go to the gym and attack the workout because I can. I don’t plan to waste away and die. I plan to go out strong.

6) I feel good about eating real, healthy, natural foods. I know what’s in everything I eat because I made it. Yeah, it’s an adjustment in time commitment, but the payoff is totally worth it! I can’t imagine going back to eating the quick processed food on a regular basis again.

7) My blood lipid panel improved. Triglycerides went down, good cholesterol went up, and bad cholesterol went down…and I probably eat a package of bacon a week!

My family has experienced a host of other great benefits, but these are the 7 most obvious and clear to me.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2010 in paleo

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Paleo as a Lifestyle not a Diet

  1. Jessica H

    June 15, 2010 at 6:22 am

    Totally awesome! There is definitely a lot that can change with your body and health in general just by making some diet changes.

    I don’t have a prescribed diet of approved foods, but I now know what gives me genuine energy for running and what gives me that bloated feeling. It’s a dramatic difference!

    I, too, had some great health benefits. Blood pressure dropped, good cholesterol increased, bad went down. My allergies are like 10 times better now! Before I couldn’t even walk outside in the spring without getting sick. Seriously. It was almost like a disability. Now I can run for hours without problem, any time of the year. Keep up the good work!

     
  2. Nikki Faith

    June 15, 2010 at 8:50 am

    That’s awesome!! especially finding a cure for your rash after soany years!! Kudos. 🙂

     
  3. Nikki Faith

    June 15, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Soany = so many
    😉

     
  4. Miss Teacha

    June 15, 2010 at 10:02 am

    what is paleo? I’ve never heard of it until now and if it can work these kind of wonders. I definitely need to give it a whirl. Recommend some sites for me.

     
    • jalzen

      June 15, 2010 at 6:21 pm

      I was actually thinking about talking to you specifically about this after some of your posts in the last few months. You’ve really been on my heart as this changed my life and I think it could change yours too. We’re actually starting a ministry at our church that will essentially be promoting this lifestyle. I think the best place to start would be http://whole9life.com/2010/05/whole-30-v2/. It’s a challenge to make some drastic changes for 30 days and then see where you want to go from there. After you read through the site, if you think you’re interested, let me know. We’ll talk more.

       

Leave a Reply

 
