RSS

Sleeping In

08 Jun

Do other teachers struggle with sleeping in during the summer? I’m sure I’ll get used to it eventually, but I woke up at 5:45 the other morning. Now, technically, this is sleeping in for me. During the school year, I often got up at 4:30, so 5:45 is a nice solid extra hour and some change. Here’s the problem for me, I wake up when the sun comes up, and I just can’t stay in bed beyond that time very often. I think this is for several reasons: 1) I just can’t sleep anymore and I’m restless 2) I feel like I’m wasting time 3) I hate it when I get up and it seems like a good portion of the day is already gone. I’m just hard-wired to be a workaholic. It’s the beast within that I honestly have to fight, otherwise I’m sure I’ll work myself into an early grave. I think a huge part of why God gave me the husband is because he makes me rest and have fun more often than I would on my own. Oh well, the early hours of the morning are good for blogging.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2010 in Summer

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Sleeping In

  1. Jessica H

    June 8, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I don’t mind waking up early as long as I go to bed early the night before. I can definitely tell that I’m not at peak performance if I don’t get the required hours of sleep. If it is a weekend and I’m up late, then I will sleep in, otherwise I don’t feel alert the next day. This is really important for me for my long run. I can just forget about 10-12 miles if I don’t get more 7 hours of sleep.

    Good for you for having good habits. I’m glad your hubby makes you have fun though.

     
    • jalzen

      June 8, 2010 at 3:27 pm

      Yeah, he’s a good influence. Things have changed a bit since I wrote this too. With Husband at school until 11 last night, we’ve modified our schedule a bit. Bed at 11 and up at 8. Only a little bit more sleep, but definitely a different time frame than I’m used to. During the school year, past 9 is a very late night for us!

       
  2. Nikki Faith

    June 8, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    I have no problem sleeping in. In fact, I didn’t get out bed until 9 today!! Nothing wrong with continuing to get up early though. 😉

     
  3. David

    June 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Let’s talk about this “sleeping in” thing… I, too, try to sleep in. But after 180 work days of getting up at 522 and being out the door by 6, I feel the need to be productive or at least out of bed. There are mornings, I purposely try to close my eyes and go back to sleep (just because I know my body needs the rest). I do know that nap time will hit the Cordi house in the afternoon, but that’s not always guaranteed. Besides… I’m gonna sleep as long as I possibly can because D wakes up early…. Nothing like having a kid come in w/ a grin from ear to ear saying, “are you sleeping?”… at that point, the answer is no.

     

Leave a Reply

 
