RSS

Paleo Nut Butter Chocolate Chip Cake

05 Jun

I’ve recently been devouring every recipe I can make off of Joyful Abode. I discovered this mom-to-be after the video chat session with Mark Sisson for people who pre-ordered Primal Blueprint, and I’ll likely always be making a new recipe off of her site. The husband and I are still rather strict paleo eaters after 6 months, so I often have to slightly alter primal recipes to be in line with paleo. So, I’ve taken Joyful Abode’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cake and slightly altered it. Here is her recipe, and below is mine.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the following:

1 cup almond butter
3 eggs
about 1/3 cup raisins
1 very ripe banana
1/3 cup 100% cacao nibs
After everything is combined, 1 tsp of lemon juice

I also used 1/2 tsp baking soda for the first time since November, but husband is checking to see if that’s going to be allowed on later attempts. It will taste the same without, but it won’t be as fluffy.

Bake in a buttered or oiled pan for 35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

It’s good as is, but it’s even better served with some melted butter on top. Thanks again to Joyful Abode for sharing all of her wonderful creations! Her site is the best source of grain-free baking recipes I’ve found since starting on this journey, and she’s got all kinds of other tasty stuff as well. A definite addition to the reader of anyone trying to change their eating habits.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 5, 2010 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Paleo Nut Butter Chocolate Chip Cake

  1. Miss Teacha

    July 21, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    what kind of butter is used in this recipe? can you share with me more information about picking butter?

     
    • jalzen

      July 22, 2010 at 6:30 am

      We buy unsalted Kerrygold. It’s rumored that it comes from grass-fed cows. This is an item that we added back in with a bit of freedom after the 30 days. There’s supposed to be this great wealth of health benefits from butter. I’m not sure what they are. I didn’t read them, but that’s what I was told.

       

Leave a Reply

 
