RSS

Learning about Blogging

03 Jun

Something new I have learned about blogging since by re-launch into the blogging world:

–You can write posts and then have them published at a later date

I know this is not new to anyone who blogs regularly, but since I never did, it’s new to me. Here’s what this means to me:

–I can write a bunch of posts and work on them for multiple days and them have them published later. This is good because sometimes I get lots of ideas and don’t have time to finish writing them all. I can also spread out my posting so I am more “consistent” in blogging rather than feast or famine. I feel as though the summer will be feast and school year famine, but I’m working on that.

I want to be more like Dave and post one time a day, but I’m long-winded and talk a lot. Sometimes I want to write really long stuff and I just don’t have time, so I write nothing at all. However, some of my favorite blog posts by him are these silly pictures he posts. Or when Carlos posts “Caption Please,” it always makes my day.

I also love it when Carlos’ wife Heather posts pictures of their family. We’re terrible at taking pictures, so I’m hoping that I can use the blog as an excuse/reason to post pictures of our family events. I’m hoping this will also get me back in the habit of taking pictures. I used to love doing this and pretty much stopped after a while.

So I’m going to work on being consistent either through a “real” daily post or a delayed post, I’m going to try to post more pictures of our family, and I’m going to be ok with short/silly blog posts. Apparently I have some unwritten blog rules that I need to let go of.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2010 in Summer

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “Learning about Blogging

  1. David

    June 3, 2010 at 3:24 pm

    Just last night, Bethany wrote a blog post about Delaney turning 3. She added a ton of pictures… it took most of the night to download, organize, and get the formatting just right; but she didn’t post it. It’s saved to her drafts section for a post date of tomorrow.
    Anyway… I like getting my thoughts out there. And I agree… there needs to be a balance between “feast or famine”.
    I love me some Team Alzen!

     
    • jalzen

      June 4, 2010 at 12:58 pm

      Thanks! I’m hoping that my new found blogging enthusiasm continues. I find myself thinking throughout the day of things I could blog about! You and your lovely wife have helped to inspire me!

       
  2. cordiwife

    June 3, 2010 at 5:09 pm

    And unlike my above husband . . I’m way long winded. Apparently I have far more to say than I thought I did when I started BUT, only if I have a specific topic that I want to discuss.

     
    • jalzen

      June 4, 2010 at 12:59 pm

      But your husband’s skill makes it easier to blog. Sometimes it takes forever to write something long-winded! Oh well, I’ll figure it out…or spend too much time blogging…

       
  3. Josh Morgan

    June 3, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    And you can always split up long posts into multiple days. I’ve done that before.

     
    • jalzen

      June 4, 2010 at 1:00 pm

      You are just full of great blogging tips! I’ll have to use that trick too 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
