RSS

Running

02 Jun

I hate running. I would rather try any other form of exercise than running. Today’s crossfit exercise is essentially running two miles. Honestly, I’d sign up to do 100 burpees before I signed up to run two miles, and anyone who’s done a burpee knows there’s a place called burpee hell. It’s at the bottom of the burpee, when you have to get up again. I digress…

I don’t want to do this run. I will spend the entire time thinking about how I am dying, can’t breathe, there’s a pain in my side, and that I’m a big fat baby because I’m crying about running for two miles when there are people who can’t. Then I try to be thankful for the fact that I am healthy and able to run. Sometimes I can ease the pain by reciting Bible verses I’ve memorized or praying, but that doesn’t last for long before I’m sure I’m dying once again. I’ve talked to other people about this problem. They say “it’s a clear time to let their mind go elsewhere,” “It’s a quiet time to think,” blah blah. I just don’t understand how to do this. There is nothing clear nor quiet for me when I’m running. I can’t check out.

Whatever. It will be over in less than 30 minutes. I know that’s slow, but I often stop to walk because I hate it so much.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2010 in crossfit

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Running

  1. David

    June 2, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I went running yesterday…. hit published on my June 1st blog, tied my running shoes, and I was out the door.
    I enjoy running. I know a lot of people hate it, but I really have a chance to clear my mind and refocus.
    I need to get back to crossfit, but the farther along Bethany gets (and more demanding that D is w/ her “problems”), the more I feel like I need to be at home.
    I’m excited about your fitness group at Sandals. I may just join!

     
  2. David

    June 2, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    I went running yesterday…. hit published on my June 1st blog, tied my running shoes, and I was out the door.
    I enjoy running. I know a lot of people hate it, but I really have a chance to clear my mind and refocus.
    I need to get back to crossfit, but the farther along Bethany gets (and more demanding that D is w/ her “problems”), the more I feel like I need to be at home.
    I’m excited about your fitness group at Sandals. I may just join!

     
    • jalzen

      June 2, 2010 at 5:04 pm

      See, you are one of those people. I wish I could clear my mind and re-focus when I’m running. Aren’t you ever in pain? Doesn’t it ever hurt? Whatever. Glad it works for you. The season in your life right now doesn’t necessarily allow for a lot of exercise, but you are getting ready to welcome a new life into the world! We would love for you to join our group! You are more than welcome, but it comes with a commitment to eat Paleo for 7 weeks. Think about it. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
