RSS

Paleo Chinese Food

15 Jan

After a serious hankering for Chinese food the other day, and then being sadly disappointed at the quality of the meat at the Chinese food restaurant we visited, I decided it was time to explore some Paleo Chinese food recipes. Note that the pictures here are from the websites I found the recipes. I always forget to take pictures of my own food.

Chicken and Vegetable “Lo Mein”

I used pork because we just bought a pig. I also used crimini mushrooms because I was too lazy to go to another grocery store for shiitake. Wheat-free tamari can be used in place of coconut aminos. Coconut aminos are super hard to find. The magical land of Boulder carries them all over the place, but I could not find them in California. This was pretty good. Obviously not really lo mein because there’s no noodles, but still tasty.

This recipe is also from the people who wrote the cookbook I’ll be trying out this year. Super excited!

Spicy Mongolian Beef Lettuce Wraps:

Was SUPER excited about this recipe because Mongolian Beef is my favorite Chinese food. However, I don’t think it really tasted like Mongolian Beef. I also think I did something wrong somewhere along the way because my meat was kind of watery. There was no┬ácaramelizing┬álike the recipe says. I’ll need to try again another time and see if I can get it better. Regardless, it tasted good. A little honey in this, so not good for a Whole 30 program, but just fine for regular old maintenance.

Paleo Orange Chicken:

This one is super good. Really fresh. I cooked the chicken in butter to get a nice browning on it. Needs veggies though, and I think I will put cashews in next time…or I’ll just make cashew chicken.

Kung Pao Chicken:

Again, I used pork because we’ve got 200# of the stuff. Also had issues because I was too lazy to go to another store to get the dried chili peppers. We just used red pepper flakes instead. Not quite the same, but not bad. The directions here are a little confusing, but I just threw it all in there.

Lots of Asian food this week. My new cookbook comes this week, so we’ll be trying other new stuff next week as well. Pretty exciting!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 15, 2012 in paleo, Recipes

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “Paleo Chinese Food

  1. wendeth77

    January 15, 2012 at 3:18 pm

    We LOVE Chinese food! I can’t wait to try this and not sure why I hadn’t googled paleo chinese already. Of course, I’m surprised by the soy sauce, I thought soy was a big no-no? Looks amazing….I can’t wait, can’t wait. THANKS (you really should start taking photos of your own food ;-) )

     
  2. jalzen

    January 15, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    Soy is bad, which is why you’re supposed to use coconut aminos, but those are SO HARD to find in many places. I’m using up what’s left of my wheat-free tamari, and then I’m switching to coconut aminos mainly because I can get them now. I’m against soy for many reasons, but when I used the tamari before, it was in small doses and not very often.

     
  3. wendeth77

    January 16, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    um, okay. I just bought a bottle of soy sauce. worth it?

     
  4. keith

    July 18, 2012 at 12:11 pm

    if you’re in a part of california that has a sprouts, they carry the coconut aminos. i used it last nite for orange chicken, which was relish!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

