RSS

No Halvsies

25 Dec

I know it’s Christmas, but this is not a Christmas post.

Please don’t go halvsies or worse and call it Paleo. I know a lot of people are thinking about doing Paleo in January. That’s awesome, and I’m super stoked you want to try it out! I am not stoked about people who read through this and decide they’ll only do parts of it and call it paleo. Then you’ll probably fail, say that you tried paleo, and that it didn’t work for you. No, you made up your own thing, called it paleo, and failed because it wasn’t a plan to get you eating the most nutritionally dense foods. Lots of you are New Year’s resolutioners who want to try this out in January to stop food cravings, lose some weight, or just try something new. Awesome. Please go all in. That means don’t try and find a way around this to make “tasty” things. Stop looking for sugar. Admit that the fact you are desperately trying to work some kitchen magic for a sweet treat is because you have a serious problem with a sugar/carb addiction. Eat some carrots and go for a walk. Train your body to no longer “need” sugar/carbs. Instead, teach it to want and desire REAL food. I can honestly tell you that I know when I need meat or vegetables now. My body tells me. When I want a tasty treat, it’s because I’ve been cheating, or I want to reward myself somehow with food. There is a definite difference between need and want. I guarantee that if you truly give this 100% for 30 days, you’ll know the difference afterward as well.

One of my favorite Bible verses we look at in our Bible study is 1 Corinthians 9:27:

But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. (ESV)

You more than likely have food cravings. Your body/flesh may control you. If you’re a believer, take these days as an act of spiritual discipline so that your body no longer controls your actions. In my opinion, this is an act of worship. It’s Christmas today. I’m spending it with my family likely having some tasty celebratory foods that are definitely not Paleo, but I’m making that choice because I want to, not because I need to.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 25, 2010 in paleo

 

One response to “No Halvsies

  1. Mike

    December 25, 2010 at 1:59 pm

    I LOVE this post. You’re awesome.

     

Leave a comment