RSS

Paleo Camping Food

31 May

The family went camping this weekend. Michael rode quads with his friend, and I was able to read two books. It was a great time, and we were successful in finding appropriate paleo camping foods.

1. Lettuce wrapped burgers
I’ve decided we won’t bring these again because this is the second time we’ve brought burgers and not eaten them. However, lettuce-wrapped burgers with bacon, tomato, and avocado make a great paleo camping food.

2. Ogranic, grass-fed hot dogs
I’ve only seen these at Sprouts, but they were perfect. Easy to cook and no clean-up!

3. Deli-sliced meat with salad and hard-boiled eggs
This was perfect for those meals when we just didn’t feel up to getting the campfire going.

4. Kabobs
A practically perfect camping food! I made them in advance, so it was super easy to stick them on the fire and wait to eat. For this trip, I used chicken, mushrooms, and tomatoes, but I’ve also used red bell-pepper, zucchini, and yellow squash. Any meat/veggie combo is perfect!

5. Steak, sweet potatoes, and baked appes
This was our “fancy” camping meal. Steak is an easy piece of meat to cook. I cut the sweet potatoes into rounds and wrapped them in foil with plenty of butter and let them cook for about an hour. For dessert, we cut up two apples and wrapped them in foil with butter, raisins, nutmeg, cinnamon, allspice, and cloves. Yummy!

6. Snacks…
For snacks I had several veggies and fruits ready to go: red bell peppers, carrots, broccoli, nectarines, apples, cherries, and bananas. We also had a tub of almond butter to go with any of the fruit. I also tried my hand at home made Larabars, and they were a big hit. Cashew Cookie is my favorite, so we went with those. The recipe is available here.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2010 in paleo

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Paleo Camping Food

  1. Bekyb

    May 31, 2010 at 7:25 am

    Those all sound delicious!! I think I might try them for a non-camping dinner. I love that we eat a lot of the same foods. Hope you had a great time! See you on Tuesday!

     
    • jalzen

      May 31, 2010 at 4:13 pm

      For sure. Those are all things we’ve eaten at home that just also happened to travel nicely. I’m glad we eat similarly too! It’s nice to have people to share recipes with who understand that just because it’s different doesn’t mean it’s bad.

       
  2. Anthea

    June 27, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Thanks for these ideas! We’re off camping tomorrow and we’re new to the Primal/Paleo lifestyle. Hubby was all for just going back to our old ways just for the camping trip, but I’d rather keep it going if we can!

    PS. I think I will follow your blog now. I see that you are Christians too! I have wondered since starting this lifestyle, how many Christians follow it since a lot of the theory behind it seems to be about Evolution. I don’t think it clashes really, but haven’t seen a lot of Christian Paleo people, yet.

     
    • jalzen

      June 27, 2013 at 4:38 pm

      Hi there! You can totally stay legit camping. Glad you found my recipes useful. Agreed that I don’t think there are a lot of Christians on the paleo scene, but I also agree that it actually makes complete sense to me.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

